Yucca, The Plants for Landscape and Food


IMG_1511Part of my landscape plan was to plant more native plants or at least plants that require less water and fit into a historical Four -Square type of landscape. . The Yucca was one of the plants in the plan I planted. It has already bloomed unexpectedly. I am so used to Yuccas that get 10 feet high before the bloom. They all have a very sharp tip that you must be careful of.

A few years ago it was a small plant but it grew very quickly. It was looking very nice in this photo I took in July. Now it is in full boom. It had me thinking as it could also be a useful plant at times.

The yucca plant has been used to make cordage and baskets for hundreds of years, if not thousands. Although I have never tried to eat yucca it can be eaten. The flowers are the most popular part to eat but some people do eat the roots and stalk. The leaves should never, ever be eaten and only use for fiber or making a soap like liquid.

Addition sources of information on Yuccas:
Foraging Texas: Yucca/Spanish Dagger
THE YUCCA PLANT

The Medicinal Plants of the Southwest (MPSW)Yucca spp.